Back to Blogging

I honestly think it’s hard to keep up with this blogging business when there are other things that we also need to focus on in life. I truly admire the many bloggers out there who have been blogging consistently for a long time! After making many many excuses as to why I cannot be blogging anymore (i.e. “I don’t have time” or “my laptop is too slow and so I must get a new laptop first,” etc.), I decided that it’s time to get back into it. The truth is that it’s been difficult finding my own “style” and for a while, I felt that I was just imitating what I’ve seen other bloggers do. Eventually, I felt that I lost the motivation.

The reason for coming back to blogging is really because I enjoyed doing it. Ever since I’ve discovered my passion with nail art, I’ve been spending a lot of time trying different designs, becoming more creative and even perfecting my photography skills. I would really love to have a repository of my work to look back on in the future other than the photo album that I have saved in my computer. At times, it can get super difficult to push ourselves to write but I think it is important to always remember to write down our experiences and how we feel, whether they are positive or negative.

For this past July 4th weekend, I wanted to paint something related to the holiday. I randomly remembered Miss Lady Finger‘s stripe design and I wanted replicate it. Originally, I wanted to only use red, white and blue colors but in the end decided that I’m actually not a huge fan of holiday nails. To give this design a less “American Flag” look, I added a light purple base.

Stripes on July 4th

Aside from doing my nails and yoga (I know sometimes it seems like that’s all I spend my free time on during weekends nowadays), I also spent some time outdoors even though I was constantly looking for the shade once I was outside. I finally went to check out the Long Island City Flea Market! I was really hoping to find a vendor that sold cheap nail polishes for me to add to my collection. Even though that didn’t happen, it was still worth the visit – there were other interesting vendors that sold hand-made and vintage goods and other yummy food vendors.

LIC Flea

Being someone that also enjoys baking from time to time, they must have been my favorite vendor! Aren’t these ice cream shaped cake pops adorable? How creative!

Cake Pops

Last but not least, it was little Jonathan’s 13th birthday on the 5th. I bought him an ice cream cake from Coldstone and we had a BBQ for him on Saturday. Can’t believe he’s already a teen and that he’s now half my age! Kids grow up too fast nowadays.

Jonathan's 13th Birthday

One thought on “Back to Blogging

  1. Even when we love things, we don’t always commit to them. It seems that they too must be cultivated into habits, through repetition and discipline. I love reading this post. I am happy to see you back here and I love what you have done with your platform! Glad you had fun at LIC even though you didn’t find what you were after. Happy belated birthday, Jonathan!

Leave a Reply

